An #ATX Holiday: Photos, Fun, and Other Updates

This year we spent our holidays in Austin, TX!  Greg’s brother and his wife are due with their first baby in January.  Since they aren’t able to travel, we came to them.

It was my first holiday not going to see my family in Nebraska so there were some bumps, but overall a great holiday!  The day after Christmas marked 18 weeks along with boy #2 and having some time to relax has finally kicked my butt back into gear when it comes to running and working out (workout ideas to come!).

Family Christmas hike!
Family Christmas hike!

If you can’t already tell, I’m not really showing.  At all.  I’m sure there are plenty of women that are ‘jealous’ but it’s really not all it’s cracked up to be.  My body is exhausted all the time and I feel way worse than I did with my first.  Not to mention, apparently the path of least resistance for this baby to go is up meaning everything inside is squished!  Instead of getting what I have been calling ‘pregnancy love,’ I get nothing.  We are SUPER PSYCHED about this baby and people don’t even know!  Once we say anything, they then just assume that we are at the very beginning or that it’s our first (if Booger isn’t with us) and proceed to give us very unwanted advice.

I remember all too well what childbirth is like, thank you very much.  I also know the exhaustion and nausea are ‘supposed’ to go away after the first trimester; they didn’t.  We just want people to ask if it’s a boy or a girl and if Booger is excited and when we are due but I guess it’s just not in the cards for us.

Anyways, other than my complete and utter exhaustion and desire to curl up in bed 24/7 things have been going pretty well!  Greg is in line to take on some higher responsibilities at his job (he’s such a rock star) and I have been getting more comfortable with my role as well.  Being out of the office has been hard for me since it was only my first month on the job which means I will be extra busy once we get back!

'Picking' his own family
‘Picking’ his own family

The next big thing happening for us is the arrival of our au pair from Ukraine on January 13th!  We were able to get her furniture ordered for this week but be sure to stay tuned for our ups and downs with that experience as well.

Snuggling to read before bedtime.  We try to read as a whole family every night so that Baby Pirate has a chance to hear daddy reading :)
Snuggling to read before bedtime. We try to read as a whole family every night so that Baby Pirate has a chance to hear daddy reading 🙂

 

Spent a day at the San Antonio Zoo with Nana and Aunt Lindy!
Spent a day at the San Antonio Zoo with Nana and Aunt Lindy

 

Zilker Park has been fantastic for the family.  There is a pool, plenty of areas to walk right down by Barton Springs Creek, a playground with a train, and plenty of trails for exploring.  A must-see with kids in Austin!
Zilker Park has been fantastic for the family. There is a pool, plenty of areas to walk right down by Barton Springs Creek, a playground with a train, and plenty of trails for exploring. A must-see with kids in Austin!

 

And of course a family Christmas photo!  Greg was trying to put his hand on Baby Pirate to show that there is something in there!
And of course a family Christmas photo! Greg was trying to put his hand on Baby Pirate to show that there is something in there!

2 thoughts on “An #ATX Holiday: Photos, Fun, and Other Updates

Leave a comment